Holi prasad

The sense of community in the various pockets of Bombay never fails to astound me. I’ve recently moved to Parel and here, everyone knows everyone else. There was a function in the building premises to celebrate holi – the bonfire and the sweets. Since I’m new here, I was too shy to go. At the end of the evening, the building caretaker actually went door to door distributing the prasad after the ‘puja’. Boondi and shev – sweet and mildly salty respectively.

And my building has fourteen levels. Who does that nowadays? Going door to door doing what most would call a thankless job. I was thrilled to get some prasad 🙂

2 comments so far

  1. mumbaiKar on

    Yummy!

    Have you tried Bhang? I was too young to try it when I used to live in Mumbai. I need to time my visit for Holi or Shiv Ratri…

  2. naina on

    Nah man, not tried it – although the intent was there – but by the time we could extricate ourselves from work commitments, it was past midnight and then going looking for bhang wasn’t such a good idea anymore 🙂 We ended up chilling out at a friend’s home in Navi Mumbai.


Leave a comment